Parker Clinical Rounds with Dr. William E. Morgan: Mechanics of Lumbar Spinal Stenosis

You must be logged in to watch this video.


William E. Morgan 

Chiropractor to Congress, Supreme Court, and the White House, Parker University’s Seventh President, Active Texas Chiropractic Association Member, and proud Texan 

Dr. Morgan has a long history of serving in military healthcare. At age 17, he joined the Navy and served with a Marine Recon company as a special operations technician hospital corpsman. During that time, he qualified in parachuting, military diving, submarine insertion, jungle warfare, combat swimming, explosives, mountaineering, winter warfare and Arctic survival. Additionally, he attended anti-terrorist training at the FBI Academy. After leaving active military service and transferring to the Navy Reserves, Dr. Morgan began his educational journey to become a Doctor of Chiropractic. While at Palmer College of Chiropractic-West, he transferred to a Naval Special Warfare platoon as the unit’s primary hospital corpsman.

In 1985, Dr. Morgan received his Doctorate in Chiropractic from Palmer College of Chiropractic–West and soon after, married fellow Palmer graduate, Clare Pelkey. They practiced for thirteen years in California. In 1998, Dr. Morgan was chosen to establish the first chiropractic clinic at the National Naval Medical Center in Bethesda, Maryland, which later became Walter Reed National Military Medical Center. In 2015, Walter Reed recognized Dr. Morgan with its highest honor for clinical excellence, the Master Clinician’s Award. During the last 18 years at the military’s most prestigious medical centers, he practiced in an integrative setting, providing chiropractic care to the injured troops returning from the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan.

In the year 2000, Dr. Morgan was appointed as the Chiropractor to Congress at the U.S. Capitol. At the Office of the Attending Physician to Congress, doctors of many specialties care for members of Congress and the Supreme Court. In 2007, Dr. Morgan began serving as the White House Chiropractor. He was appointed chiropractor for the United States Naval Academy football team in 2009 (which never lost to Army while under his care).

In 2011, Dr. Morgan was appointed to the United States Navy Musculoskeletal Continuum of Care Advisory Board, an entity created to address the prevalent injuries sustained by U.S. Armed Forces Personnel during active-duty operations. Dr. Morgan also served on the Spine Subcommittee, which helps develop care algorithms for treating spinal conditions and determining the future of musculoskeletal management in the U.S. Armed Forces.

Dr. Morgan has completed a 2,000-hour residency in Integrated Medicine. He served on the Board of Trustees for Palmer College of Chiropractic for ten years. He is a Diplomate of the American Academy of Pain Management and has held adjunct faculty positions at F. Edward Hébert School of Medicine, Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences and New York Chiropractic College. Additionally, Dr. Morgan served as a consultant for the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA), helping to implement the VA’s chiropractic benefit and advocate for chiropractic research.

Parker University inaugurated William E. Morgan as their seventh President in 2016. Under his leadership, the University has grown exponentially in enrollment and brand recognition and, in 2022, it secured full reaffirmation accreditation with no concerns by the Council on Chiropractic Education (CCE) and Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). Upon arriving in Texas, he became an active member and supporter of the Texas Chiropractic Association (TCA). Almost immediately, he organized a leadership summit to establish a legislative agenda strategy for chiropractors in Texas. Texas Chiropractors had not won a significant legislative victory in two decades, but in 2017 four bills advantageous to the chiropractic profession passed. Additionally, Morgan has assisted in fundraising, membership recruitment, and awareness for the TCA. As lifetime member of the American Chiropractic Association (ACA), he has also held several leadership positions in the organization and continues to serve on the Advisory Board and Ethics Committee. He is also a board member of the Association of Chiropractic Colleges.

Dr. Morgan is the recipient of many prestigious awards, namely:

  • The American Chiropractic Association Chairman’s Award of Valor, 2003
  • Chiropractor of the Year from the American Chiropractic Association, 2003
  • Doctor of Laws, L.L.D. (honoris causa), National University of Health Sciences, 2004
  • Master Clinician Award, Walter Reed National Military Medical Center, 2015
  • The Keeler Plaque: “Chiropractor of the Year” awarded by the Texas Chiropractic Association in 2018
  • TCA President’s Award, 2019-2020